Laid Bare!


    The Best Movie Reviews on the Planet

    Share

    The Great Splendini

    Posts : 4840
    Join date : 2012-01-30

    The Best Movie Reviews on the Planet

    Post  The Great Splendini on Thu Jan 23, 2014 11:59 am

    Man of Steel

    totally sucks. not worth watching. stupid dialog. stupid characters. stupid story.

    it seems like an ad for the military more than anything else. join the military. if there's an alien invasion, you get to rescue your country and maybe even get to work with super-hot cool guys like superman.

    superman is a total stiff. no fucking sense of humor whatsoever. total fucking cardboard personality. if i was superman, i'd be fucking witty and charming and funny as hell. can fly and carry buses on his shoulder, but fails to see the humor in the fact that no one else in the universe can do this and how easy this power can allow him to fuck any chick he wants? i'd be a total arrogant asshole if i had those powers.

    splendini's recommendation: avoid this movie like sciency's dirty underpants


    The Great Splendini

    Posts : 4840
    Join date : 2012-01-30

    Re: The Best Movie Reviews on the Planet

    Post  The Great Splendini on Wed Jan 29, 2014 12:04 am

    I just watched "The Devil and Daniel Johnston". Never even heard of this guy before the movie.

    But I highly recommend it if you're up for something different.

    Warning though: It's not for the faint of heart. The guy ended up in a mental institution. The subject matter is a bit unnerving.




    The Great Splendini

    Posts : 4840
    Join date : 2012-01-30

    Re: The Best Movie Reviews on the Planet

    Post  The Great Splendini on Mon Feb 03, 2014 8:37 am

    Zero-Dark Thirty is bad news.

    The first hour is just showing torture.

    This creates more animosity towards the US and is leading us one step closer to World War 3.

    And the whole story is bullshit. Bin Laden is a fabrication.

    avatar
    Psioncy

    Posts : 6186
    Join date : 2010-05-02

    Re: The Best Movie Reviews on the Planet

    Post  Psioncy on Tue Feb 04, 2014 11:27 am

    Yeah, nothing in Zero Dark Thirty is true. The entire film is a propaganda device to justify the use of torture.


    _________________
    "It's all part of the plan."
    "What is the plan?"
    "I kind of make the plan up as I go."
    "That's not really a plan then."
    "Okay, so it's not a plan. Look, I'm not good with plans."
    avatar
    Psioncy

    Posts : 6186
    Join date : 2010-05-02

    Re: The Best Movie Reviews on the Planet

    Post  Psioncy on Tue Feb 04, 2014 11:57 am

    Check out "Black Sails".

    It's a TV series set in the (pre) Treasure Island world.  And before you go scoffing over how the pirate genre has been played out, give it watch cuz it absolutely rocks!


    _________________
    "It's all part of the plan."
    "What is the plan?"
    "I kind of make the plan up as I go."
    "That's not really a plan then."
    "Okay, so it's not a plan. Look, I'm not good with plans."

    The Great Splendini

    Posts : 4840
    Join date : 2012-01-30

    Re: The Best Movie Reviews on the Planet

    Post  The Great Splendini on Tue Feb 04, 2014 1:40 pm

    yeah, i think i'm gonna do a hoffman marathon first. catch up on his films that i missed.

    just watched capote. not a great film, but he's a peculiarly interesting actor and always had weird roles.

    next up: The Master. Can't believe I completely forgot about that one.
    should get to it by tonight or tomorrow.


    The Great Splendini

    Posts : 4840
    Join date : 2012-01-30

    Re: The Best Movie Reviews on the Planet

    Post  The Great Splendini on Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:28 pm

    The Master is art house crap.

    I thought it was going to be about scientology.

    big disappointment. total fucking waste of time.

    except for a couple of good scenes.
    1 - one guy starts questioning the leader and accusing him of being bullshit. then gets beat up by one of his followers.
    2 - all the girls remove all their clothing at their parties. surprise surprise.
    3 - the followers know it's bullshit, but they don't care. i guess they need to belong to a group and need a cult leader because they're lost souls.

    but it really skimmed the surface of what a cult is all about.

    amen hollywood

    The Great Splendini

    Posts : 4840
    Join date : 2012-01-30

    Re: The Best Movie Reviews on the Planet

    Post  The Great Splendini on Sat Mar 01, 2014 12:20 am

    captain phillips is a great film.

    most of the good films are the ones based on true stories.

    but i have a question.

    they chose to make a film about this particular story because it makes the US look like heroes, right?

    how many piracy attempts didn't quite work out with uncle sam coming to the rescue and looking like a hero?



    The Great Splendini

    Posts : 4840
    Join date : 2012-01-30

    Re: The Best Movie Reviews on the Planet

    Post  The Great Splendini on Sat Mar 01, 2014 9:09 am

    sciency, why don't you become a pirate?

    it suits your disposition.

    sure, you might get gunned down or arrested.

    but you might also make off with the LOOT.

    LOOT, sciency. LOOT.

    don't tell me you don't have dollar signs in your eyes, you greedy pirate pigfucker.


    The Great Splendini

    Posts : 4840
    Join date : 2012-01-30

    Re: The Best Movie Reviews on the Planet

    Post  The Great Splendini on Sat Mar 01, 2014 12:41 pm

    sciency, you've played by the rules all your life.

    and look where that's gotten you.

    time to live dangerously.

    can you paddle?


      Current date/time is Sun Jun 25, 2017 4:43 am