Laid Bare!

Cult test:

Psioncy

Cult test:

Post  Psioncy on Wed Oct 21, 2015 2:06 pm

I'm finding this site so fascinating I can't stop reading it.  (And I have other stuff I really should be studying)

I'm pretty convinced AA is a cult now, because it applies a lot of these principles:  sinner, guilt, miracles, positive reinforcement for agreeing with the doctrine/negative reinforcement for critical thinking, canned answers to EVERYTHING.  Language control,  all sorts of stuff on this list.

This list is meant to help identify cults, but it would also make a great roadmap to creating one.  drunken (BTW:  All items on the list are extensively expanded after the first ten by clicking on the links)

http://www.orange-papers.org/orange-cult_q0.html#cq_guru_right

"That's not really a plan then."
    "Okay, so it's not a plan. Look, I'm not good with plans."

The Great Splendini

Re: Cult test:

Post  The Great Splendini on Wed Oct 21, 2015 4:57 pm

yeah, i think AA is a cult from what i've heard.

also, keep in mind that there is no free lunch.

99 times out of 100 if some organization is out there "helping" people for free, it's because they have a hidden agenda.

christianity is also a cult.

i've been online a lot on christian blogs. just to fuck with them.

if you criticize, you'll get followers threatening you, or at least saying stuff like "I got your back". ie they'll protect the cult leader.

and the cult leader tells you "you're a sinner. you have to repent".

YOU are always wrong and he is always right.

and they attack each other. the christian leaders always attack other guys. He's not following the true word of God. He's of the devil. he'll burn in hell. you'll burn in hell if you follow him. follow me.

crazy shit man

but people are all after power and this is one way to get power.

Psioncy

Post  Psioncy on Thu Oct 22, 2015 9:06 am

Yeah, it's cult. That being said though, I don't think it's the worst thing if it works for someone.