Laid Bare!

A prayer: Hurricane Irma vs my internet

Psioncy

A prayer: Hurricane Irma vs my internet

Post  Psioncy on Tue Sep 05, 2017 5:09 am

Let us pray.

Dear Lord, the meteorological soothsayers today announced that Hurricane Irma is projected to be on course for my location.  I'm enough inland and on high enough ground that there really isn't any chance of flooding, but this will surely cut off my internet.  I don't need an extended period of being stuck reading crude books made out of paper under candlelight like some kind of primitive cave monkey.  I think I've suffered enough in this life, TYVM.

Please divert this storm curve westward into the Gulf to hit New Orleans or Houston again.  Not that I wish ill on those places but come on they are already used to it and I need my internet.

Amen,

Psioncy

"That's not really a plan then."
    "Okay, so it's not a plan. Look, I'm not good with plans."

The Great Splendini

Re: A prayer: Hurricane Irma vs my internet

Post  The Great Splendini on Tue Sep 05, 2017 5:33 am

i'm sure it'll work.

god owes you one.

Psioncy

Post  Psioncy on Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:58 am

Sheet, good point. If He "owes me one" I don't want to use it up on the hurricane. Rather go with a bag of cash.

Prayer rescinded.

The Great Splendini

Post  The Great Splendini on Tue Sep 05, 2017 8:29 am

actually, god thinks you're an asshole.

for various reasons.

one of which is that you CHERRY-PICK verses from the Bible that suit your needs.

and don't deny it.

when I bring up the 4 Horsemen of the Apocalypse, you conveniently change the topic.

Psioncy

Post  Psioncy on Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:39 am

When have I ever refused to discuss the Book of Revelation?

It reads like a very bad acid trip, but it's also the most poetic and kickass chapter in the whole Bible.

It seques with a lot of stuff Isaiah and Daniel too.

Psioncy

Post  Psioncy on Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:45 am

I guess I read it differently than most people.